There and Back Again

Whew!! What a long month it has been! I have spent that past month up in Northern Wisconsin working on a number of projects! First, there was a family reunion, then time with my little cousin, working at my old job to help them end their summer session, and finally planning a dear one’s wedding (in 4 days I might add). I must say it felt amazing to finally come home from this extended trip!

I will confess that my exercise routines went right out of the door the minute I got up North. I did a ton of activities that were active.. I just never took the time for a planned work out routine. My eating patterns were changed slightly though I did my best to keep up with my strict diet. There were compromises of course (ie- coffee with cream about every day, alcohol about 5 times, and some of the ‘healthy’ options from fast food restaurants. Overall, I only put on 3.5 pounds. In light of how long I was there I am quite happy with this number.

Now that I am home, I am jumping back on my wagon of strict diet and exercise.  I knew that my body needed to be cleansed of some of the crap that I put in it. Normally, we eat about 90% clean. I wanted to ensure that I would eat clean food 100% this week. Instead of simply meal planning for dinners I planned out every day. I put special emphasis on the fruits and veggies too. Yesterday alone I consumed 1 and a half bunches of kale. This, in addition to a ton of water, has made me feel amazing and not the sluggish hangover that people tend to get from a ton of travelling.

For my breakfasts this week I decided to go with smoothies and if needed some fresh rye toast. I am pleased to give you this recipe I made yesterday.  It was soo good and thick that I intend on using it as a refreshing dessert sometimes too! I realized about 2 gulps in that I just had to share this!

Image

Here is what you need:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 banana chobani or other greek yogurt (I know I should use plain… I am working my way down to it)
  • 1/4 cup of plain oatmeal
  • 1 tablespoon of chia seeds (optional)
  • 1.5 tsp of carob chips or baby semi sweet chips
  • 1 tsp of dark cocoa powder
  • almond milk- I put in a little and then added as it blended until it hit a consistency that I liked
  • 2-3 ice cubes

Blend this all together and Enjoy! This made one full 8 oz cup.

No joke the best smoothie I have ever had. I even got full after eating only half of it so I popped it in the fridge and finished it off 4 hours later!! That is a seriously filling beverage!

Before I go here are some pics from my trip:

Imageseriously beautiful sunsets on the lake

Image

Imagefamily gatherings on pirate ships… you know normal things 🙂

Hope your staying cool (humid/heat wave here)! Looks like I will be doing some zumba and Pilates indoors the next few days!

Leave a Reply

