Wrecked Knees and Taste Guru

Have you ever vowed to work out the next day and then woken up sick… or injured? That is just what happened to me today. I had injured my back slipping on the ice two weeks ago. I finally felt better and was planning on working out today. Then I woke up today… completely unable to bend my right knee. A few years ago I had wrecked it bad when I slipped on some water at school. My roommate was going to school for physical therapy. She was fairly certain that I had torn something slightly. I was laid up for a few days but was able to eventually walk it off. Weather occasionally has made it angry in the past.

With the arctic cold that seems to plague my state currently my knee had been a little angry. It popped two days ago and hurt but then went away. This morning, however, my knee was throbbing something fierce.  Bending it is atrocious… so needless to say… zumba isn’t happening today.

100_1244

YAY for wrap around ice packs!

In other news, I received my first Taste Guru Box.  This mail service is something that I suggest highly for anyone who is trying to go GF. I was appalled when I first started to look around for GF options. The price was outstanding and the nutritional value was not always better. In some cases it was worse! I found a Groupon for this service and ended up getting three months worth of boxes for $40. It was so worth it!

100_1245100_1246

This box came with six products. As you can see, I opened the chocolate almond milk immediately.. it was frozen and so it was like slushy. As one who is lactose sensitive, I get my kicks with chocolate milk products when I can. The kettle corn is divine! I only took a handful though because it was super sweet. The Punjabi curry is something that I am intrigued to try. I may not be too familiar with curries but I did try Cooksimple’s cowboy chili a few weeks ago. It was fantastic!

As a recovering carb addict, I am excited to try the baguettes. I have seen them in the store but was afraid to spend the 5 dollars a loaf on them… just in case they were awful. This may be the start of something beautiful… then again.. I haven’t taken a look at the nutritional information. I will let you know how that turns out.

The BBQ sauce is much appreciated because I didn’t realize how in depth wheat and all its associates have infiltrated the food system. To know that I have a safe sauce to turn to if I don’t have time to make up my own is comforting. I may be trying to get into shape… but I am still human and BBQ on occasion is good 🙂

Finally, the oats. Many people are either all for or all against oats when it comes to gluten free eating. My current opinion is that as long as you are careful to get the gluten free ones… you are alright. I used to love eating the instant flavored oatmeal packs on cold winter days. I have since seen that this is not the healthiest option. Making them from scratch is the best but when you are in a jam it could be helpful to have something for on the go. In comes these:

100_1249

Vigilant Eats, the producers of this product, have created these fun to-go cups. They come in crazy flavors that I would not have thought of. I may take these and borrow them for inspiration for my oatmeal later this winter. Flavors such as goji cacao, coconut maple vanilla, and espresso. Just be careful sending them in the mail. I was sad to find that mine had exploded all over the taste guru box. I was able to save about half of it… but the rest was lost… and later picked over by my cat that has an affinity for boxes.

2 thoughts on “Wrecked Knees and Taste Guru

Leave a Reply

